Posted by: ssorrrell | September 8, 2007

Bread and Butter Pickles

When I pulled down the Sunflowers two of the barely alive cucumbers came back to life and started fruiting. In addition, the lemon cucumbers have been fruiting like crazy. This week I got 9 small Lemon cukes and 4 regular size Straight 8s. I made a mistake with the okra by not picking it for canning. Last week I got the stuff for Bread and Butter pickles; 5% white vinegar, B & B mix, jars, and sugar.

Tonight, I mixed the ingredients according to the B & B mix, sliced the cucumbers, and prepared a dozen pints and 3 quarts. The syrup tasted fantastic before I pouring it in the jars of cukes. They should be done in a month to 6 weeks. It was very easy. Took about an hour and a half.

Update 9/16/2007:
The lemon cukes are in full production.  About a dozen fruit this week.  The lemon cukes produced enough for half a batch.  So, I got some supermarket green and finished off the batch.  The wax on them bugs me to no end, but I don’t see how to get it off and the mix doesn’t make half batches well.  I had given up on the Straight 8 plant after the first batch, but there are three that will be done this week.  So, next weekend maybe it will be pickle relish instead of pickles.

Responses

  1. Hey I think you need to do my canning!!! Oh wait… I forgot… I don’t garden!!! LOL!!

    Damn you are so multi-talented!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

